A Fitting Tribute

Graham Johnson to receive the Wigmore Medal

In April 2013 Yale University Press will launch Graham Johnson’s three-volume encyclopaedia Franz Schubert: The Complete Songs, and to commemorate this auspicious event the Director of the Wigmore Hall  has scheduled a Gala evening, which pays tribute in particular to four great British-born Schubertians (Gerald Moore, Peter Pears, Eric Sams and Ted Perry – four of the book’s five dedicatees).  An impressive line-up of soloists (Ailish Tynan, Sarah Connolly, Mark Padmore, Ben Johnson, Robin Tritschler, Christopher Maltman and Benjamin Appl) together with young singers from the Guildhall School of Music and Drama will perform Schubert’s settings of British poets.
In addition, on this occasion John Gilhooly will present Graham with the Wigmore Medal, awarded at the discretion of the Director of the Hall in recognition of Graham’s “tireless work for the song repertoire throughout the world over many decades”.
Share Article