Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra & Long Yu give first UK tour to celebrate 60th anniversary

This May, the Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra come to the UK for the first time, with concerts in London, Manchester and Birmingham with Music Director Long Yu and Resident Conductor Jing Huan.

The tour celebrates both the orchestra’s 60th anniversary and the 45th anniversary of the establishment of full diplomatic relations between the UK and China. Reflecting this, the concerts’ programme includes works by both Chinese and UK composers: UK premieres of two works commissioned by the orchestra from composers Ye Xiaogang and Zhao Lin, and Britten’s Four Sea Interludes. The programme is completed by the 1919 version of Stravinsky’s The Firebird. The orchestra are joined by soloists Jian Wang and Lei Jia for Zhao Lin’s contemplative concerto for cello and sheng.

“The best sound I’ve ever heard among Chinese orchestras!”
– Krysztof Penderecki on the GSO

Founded in 1957, Guangzhou is the only Chinese symphony orchestra to have toured and performed on five continents and one of the first to establish a full concert season at home; the Xinghai Concert Hall on the bank of the Pearl River.

Hailed by The New York Times as “the Chinese Karajan”, Long Yu is regarded as one of the most influential musicians working in China and abroad, credited for transforming the development of classical music in China. He directs all three of the country’s leading orchestras; the China Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony and GSO.

Askonas Holt are thrilled to be working with the Guangzhou Symphony and Long Yu on this special tour.

Tour dates:

Sunday 14 May, 7.00pm, Cadogan Hall London | Tickets
Monday 15 May, 7.30pm, Bridgewater Hall Manchester | Tickets
Tuesday 16 May, 7.30pm, Symphony Hall Birmingham | Tickets


BRITTEN Four Sea Interludes
YE XIAGANG Guangdong Music Suite, Op. 51 (GSO commission, 2005)
ZHAO LIN Duo for cello, sheng and orchestra (GSO co-commission, 2011)
STRAVINSKY The Firebird Suite (1919 version)

Cello: Jian Wang
Sheng: Lei Jia

Conductors: Long Yu & Jing Huan (Manchester)
Guangzhou Symphony Orchestra

More information:

Share Article