Myung-Whun Chung awarded the Premio Abbiati

After an intense meeting, the Jury of Premio Abbiati, which includes more than a dozen music critics, has awarded the Premio Abbiati for best conductor to Myung-Whun Chung for his outstanding conducting of ‘Simone Boccanegra’ at the La Fenice in Venice in November 2014. This is the second time Myung-Whun Chung has been awarded the prize.
The Premio Abbiati is awarded annually for best opera production, best conductor, best singer and best musician. Since 2001, there has also been a category for schools to highlight outstanding educational projects.
Previous recipients have included Barenboim, Giulini, Celibidache, Kleiber, Savallisch, Boulez, Muti, Abbado, Sinopoli, Chailly and Myung-Whun Chung during 1987/1988. Only Abbado, Muti and now Myung-Whun Chung  have received the award twice.
The Associazione nazionale critici musicali was founded in 1986 by musicologists and music critics, who since 1980, had conceived the idea of a music critics prize called “Franco Abbiati”. The award takes its name from an important and highly regarded musicologist. The Association now has more then 100 members and former Presidents have included some of the best known music critics in Italy (Duilio Courir (1987 -1993), Leonardo Pinzauti (1993-1996) and  Angelo Foletto from 1997).
Maestro Chung’s love for Italy has been at the basis of his extensive work in the country for many years, including, from 1997 to 2005, his position as Principal Conductor of the Santa Cecilia Orchestra in Rome where he returns this weekend for three performances of Mahler’s Symphony no. 4 alongside Beethoven’s Symphony no. 2 (9, 11 and 12 May 2015).
Complimenti Maestro!!   
Share Article