Roderick Cox named 2018 recipient of Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award

Congratulations to Roderick Cox who has been named the 2018 recipient of The Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award!

Penny Van Horn, Board Chair of The Solti Foundation US and Elizabeth Buccheri, Artistic and Awards Committee Chair, today announced the Foundation’s ninth grant, The Sir Georg Solti Conducting Award, to Roderick Cox, Associate Conductor of the 114-year old Minnesota Orchestra. The $30,000 grant is the largest grant awarded to young American conductors in the United States.

“It is with pleasure that we announce Roderick Cox as the 2018 Solti Fellow,” stated Ms. Van Horn. “Roderick continues to demonstrate the promise we witnessed over a year ago when he was selected as a recipient of a 2017 Solti Foundation Career Assistance Award. It is exciting to follow his development on the national and international orchestra and opera stages.”

Among the orchestras that Roderick has conducted are the Alabama Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Chineke! Orchestra (Great Britain), Cleveland Orchestra, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Florida Orchestra, Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Johannesburg Philharmonic (South Africa), National Symphony Orchestra (D.C.), St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, Santa Fe Symphony Orchestra, and the Seattle Symphony.

Artistic and Awards Committee Chair Elizabeth Buccheri said, “The Solti Foundation U.S. takes great pride in identifying and providing assistance in the development of talented young conductors who are forging a path in music. The Artistic Committee congratulates Roderick Cox on his accomplishments to date. We look forward to what the future holds for him.”

Recipients may use the financial grant in various ways to further his/her career, whether it be further studies, language study, purchases of scores, travel, etc. The Award also brings door-opening introductions within the industry and valuable access to mentors. The Foundation’s Board of Directors comprises experts from all areas of the classical music industry. Former recipients of the award include Karina Canellakis (2016) and Cristian Macelaru (2014).

Share Article