Sir Simon Rattle and London Symphony Orchestra Season Opening

On Sunday 16 September, Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra open the 2018-19 season at the Barbican centre with a programme filled with a collection of new English music, including the world premiere of Sir Harrison Birtwistle’s new Fanfare, and Mark-Anthony Turnage’s trumpet concerto Dispelling the Fears. The concert will finish with Britten’s uplifting Spring Symphony.

Full programme and cast:
HARRISON BIRTWISTLE Donum Simoni MMXVIII * (world premiere)
HOLST Egdon Heath
MARK-ANTHONY TURNAGE Dispelling the Fears †
BRITTEN Spring Symphony

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Philip Cobb trumpet
Gábor Tarkövi trumpet
Elizabeth Watts soprano
Alice Coote mezzo-soprano
Allan Clayton tenor
London Symphony Chorus
Simon Halsey chorus director
Tiffin Boys’ Choir
Tiffin Children’s Chorus
The Tiffin Girls’ School Choir

Other performances at the Barbican will take place on 18 and 19 September.

Sir Simon and the London Symphony Orchestra will then embark on a tour of Japan and Seoul, which will include the NHK Festival in Tokyo.

Share Article