Veronika Eberle and Anna Prohaska embark on European Tour

This week, Veronika Eberle realises a long term ambition to perform Schubert’s Octet for horn, clarinet, bassoon and strings with a hand-picked “dream team” ensemble of friends and colleagues from across Europe. Composed in response to Beethoven’s Septet and following a tradition of serenades for mixed ensemble, Schubert’s Octet is a substantial and richly scored work for two violins, viola, cello, bass, clarinet, bassoon and horn, with the composer treating the ensemble almost as a miniature orchestra.

Veronika is joined by fellow Askonas Holt artist Anna Prohaska. The pair first met as soloists in the same concert with the London Symphony Orchestra, and they are delighted to finally be able to perform together. With bassoonist Marco Postinghel, they  have devised an intimate first half of settings of the ‘Salve Regina’ by Schubert and Pergolesi framing Webern’s brief but bleak response to his mother’s death.

The ensemble tours eight venues around Europe between 14 and 29 May.

Tour dates:

14 May – Schloss Elmau

16 May – Schwetzingen SWR Festival

19 May – Concertgebouw Amsterdam

20 May – Konzerthaus Dortmund

22 May – Wigmore Hall London

25 May – Sociedad Filarmonica de Bilbao

27 May – Opéra de Lille

29 May – L’Atlantida, Vic

Share Article