Rodolfo Barráez


Berlin-based Venezuelan conductor Rodolfo Barráez made his European debut at Philharmonie Berlin in 2019 with the Hauptstadt Sinfonie-Orchester. Currently completing his Master’s conducting studies at Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin, Rodolfo is a natural communicator with infectious charisma, bringing remarkable vivacity, sensitivity and zeal to his artistry. From 2015-17, Rodolfo served as Principal Guest Conductor of the Falcón Symphony Orchestra.

A recipient of numerous international competition awards, Rodolfo recently took the 2nd Prize at the Inaugural 2020 Siemens-Hallé International Conductor Competition in Manchester (leading to immediate invitations with The Hallé), 1st Prize at the 2018 Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México International Conducting Competition (OFUNAM), and was a participant at the prestigious Mahler Competition 2016.

In addition to The Hallé, significant future guest conducting engagements include RTVE Symphony Orchestra, Minería Symphony Orchestra, Simón Bolívar Symphony, Bogotá Philharmonic Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra of Mexico, Jalisco Philharmonic, and Orchestra UNAM Philharmonic, among many others.

Strongly influenced by his own remarkable education as part of El Sistema under the guidance of Teresa Hernández and José Abreu, Rodolfo is committed to contributing to music education. In 2019, Rodolfo founded the Falcón Conducting Workshop; an organisation which nurtures and supports the development of emerging conductors through masterclass and workshop series across Latin America, giving masterclasses at Universidad Nacional de Colombia and Universidad Autónoma de Zacatecas. In addition, as part of El Sistema Greece and supported by the Hilti Foundation, Rodolfo provided performance training to young musicians from deprived communities in Greece, furthering his passion for bringing young people together through music performance and education.


Performance Schedule

  • More info  
    19:30 26 Mar 2021 Teatro Monumental, MADRID

    WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART Violin Concerto No.4 in D major K. 218
    LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1 in C major Op. 21

    Violin: Tetiana Lutsyk
    Orchestra: Orquesta Sinfónica y Coro Radio Televisión Española